Milos Ninkovic wins 2016-17 Johnny Warren Medal

ShareClose Comments
The Sky Blues' playmaker was the clear favourite leading into Monday night's ceremony and was duly crowned the A-League's Player of the Year

Sydney FC midfielder Milos Ninkovic has won the 2016-17 Johnny Warren Medal, dominating the A-League Player of the Year voting.

In his second A-League season, Ninkovic - who was the clear favourite - polled 44 votes, winning by seven from last season's winner Diego Castro of Perth Glory.

GFX Milos Ninkovic Johnny Warren Medal

It was a season for the import playmakers, with Western Sydney Wanderers' Nico Martinez finishing third with 29 votes.

Ninkovic notched nine goals and 10 assists in the regular season, steering the Sky Blues to the Premier's Plate, while the 32-year-old also teed up a goal in Sydney's 3-0 win over Glory last week to qualify for the grand final.

The Serb became the first player in Sydney FC's history to win the Johnny Warren Medal.

Perth and Matildas striker Sam Kerr won the Julie Dolan Medal as the W-League's player of the year with 23 votes, two ahead of Brisbane Roar midfielder Katrina Gorry.

Adelaide United's Sofia Huerta finished third on 17 votes.

Kerr scored 10 goals in 16 matches as Glory reached the W-League grand final only to lose to Melbourne City.

Unsurprisingly, runaway A-League premiers Sydney dominated the men's awards with Graham Arnold being crowned Coach of the Year and Danny Vukovic winning the Goalkeeper of the Year gong.


Johnny Warren Medallist: Milos Ninkovic (Sydney FC)

Julie Dolan Medallist: Sam Kerr (Perth Glory)

A-League Young Footballer of the Year: Jamie Maclaren (Brisbane Roar)

W-League Young Footballer of the Year: Remy Siemsen (Sydney FC)

A-League Golden Boot: Jamie Maclaren (Brisbane Roar) & Besart Berisha (Melbourne Victory)

W-League Golden Boot: Ashleigh Sykes (Canberra United)

A-League Coach of the Year: Graham Arnold (Sydney FC)

W-League Coach of the Year: Bobby Despotovski (Perth Glory)

A-League Goalkeeper of the Year: Danny Vukovic (Sydney FC)

W-League Goalkeeper of the Year: Lydia Williams (Melbourne City)

A-League Goal of the Year: Tim Cahill (Melbourne City)

W-League Goal of the Year: Sam Kerr (Perth>

Next article:
Conte thanks Chelsea 'friends' after acrimonious departure from Stamford Bridge
Next article:
Cameroon striker and Benin defender on trial at TP Mazembe
Next article:
African All Stars Transfer News & Rumours: Nordin Amrabat to join Saudi club Al Nassr
Next article:
Kariobangi Sharks coach William Muluya praises keeper Brian Bwire
Next article:
'Ballon d'Or not in my hands' - Waiting game for Griezmann after France's World Cup win