Lloyd, Dempsey, Pulisic among U.S. Soccer's end-of-year award nominees

ShareClose Comments
U.S. Soccer has tabbed its Player of the Year nominees for the men's and women's national teams.

U.S. Soccer announced the nominees for its end-of-year awards Monday, with Carli Lloyd, Clint Dempsey and Christian Pulisic among the finalists.

Defender Geoff Cameron, midfielder Michael Bradley, and forwards Dempsey, Jozy Altidore and Bobby Wood are the nominees for the 2016 Male Player of the Year award.

On the women's side, Lloyd — the reigning FIFA World Player of the Year — is joined by defender Becky Sauerbrunn, midfielder Tobin Heath, and forwards Alex Morgan and Crystal Dunn.

The nominees for Young Female Player of the Year are defenders Kaleigh Riehl and Karina Rodriguez, midfielders Emily Ogle and Andi Sullivan, and forward Ashley Sanchez.

Article continues below

Pulisic headlines the young nominees on the men's side, with the Borussia Dortmund midfielder joined by defender Cameron Carter-Vickers, midfielder Josh Sargent, and forwards Andrew Carleton and Jordan Morris.

Votes will be cast by national team coaches and staff, players who have earned a cap in 2016, members of the U.S. Soccer Board of Directors, U.S. Soccer's Athlete Council, professional soccer league coaches, select college coaches and select media members.

Bradley won the men's award in 2015, with Lloyd claiming the women's honor.

Next article:
Franck Kessie inspires AC Milan comeback vs. Cagliari
Next article:
Hazard: My dad is in trouble for Real Madrid transfer outburst!
Next article:
'He's on fire!' - Smalling hails Manchester United's man of the moment Martial
Next article:
Batshuayi may leave Chelsea in January, says Conte
Next article:
Memphis stunner shows PSG aren't perfect as Real Madrid loom