Leicester City winger Riyad Mahrez put the ball in the net from the spot against Manchester City, but saw his penalty ruled out in controversial circumstances after touching the ball with both feet when kicking it goalwards.
Referee Bobby Madley immediately whistled to award City a free-kick, leading many people to question what just happened.
The reaction online agreed with Madley's decision, with most fans shocked to see the penalty ruled out after Atletico Madrid's Antoine Griezmann had gotten away with a very similar incident in the Champions League.
76. WOW! Mahrez's penalty chalked off after the Leicester man touched the ball twice! Spot from the ref that!
2-1 — Manchester City (@ManCity) May 13, 2017
Riyad Mahrez scores but it's disallowed for a double touch oh my goodness hahahha — City Watch (@City_Watch) May 13, 2017
Griezmann did that the other night and got away with it. That is such a massive stroke of luck — Sam Lee (@Sammy_Goal) May 13, 2017
Think judging on that Mahrez pen, the law needs reworded, goalkeepers are allowed to retake goal kicks if same happens. (Hart vs Austin) — Bewsh (@Bewsh88) May 13, 2017
The referee of Manchester City vs. Leicester City just cancelled Mahrez's two-touch penalty, good call. If only they spotted Griezmann's… — TheCRonaldoFan (@TheCRonaldoFan) May 13, 2017
Mahrez took the penalty but having touched it twice, the goal is disallowed and not allowed a retake apparently — José (@MourinhoMindset) May 13, 2017
Mahrez takes two touches in a penalty. Scores it. Ref disallows it. SCENES! — Chef (@champ_ian) May 13, 2017
Mahrez was visibly disappointed after the decision, but Manchester City fans were delighted as it helped their side's Champions League chances.
WHY WAS MAHREZ'S PENALTY DISALLOWED?
But why was Mahrez's penalty disallowed, and should he have been allowed to retake the penalty? After all, you can pass the ball to a team-mate to score, but not to yourself!
The FIFA Laws of the Game and the FA's rulebook both contain explicit rulings on infringement, feinting during the run-up, and everything else regarding penalty taking.
Mahrez's effort fell under this ruling whereby the following is outlawed: "the kicker touches the ball again before it has touched another player."
The correct decision in this instance is to award an indirect free-kick to the opposing team, which is exactly the decision that referee Madley made.
However, despite the rules being the same for everyone, some people were still annoyed at the decision.