Gor Mahia forward beat stiff competition to top award

ShareClose Comments
John Oyemba of Kariobagi Sharks stunned many when he scooped the Golden Gloves ahead of Patrick Matasi

Gor Mahia forward Meddie Kagere is the winner of the inaugural SJAK-Football Awards Most Valuable Player.

The Rwandan international scooped the maiden gong after beating stiff competition from teammate George 'Blackberry' Odhiambo and Kenyan Premier League top scorer Masoud Juma of Kariobangi Sharks.

John Oyemba of Kariobagi Sharks stunned many when he scooped the Golden Gloves award ahead of Harambee Stars hero and Postal Rangers custodian Patrick Matasi.

Sofapaka coach Sam Ssimbwa won the Coach of the year award while Gor Mahia captain Musa Mohammed won the defender of the year.​

List of winners

Golden Glove:

John Oyemba-Kariobangi Sharks

David Juma-Kakamega Homeboyz

Patrick Matasi-Posta Rangers

Young player of the year: 

Nicholas Kipkirui- Zoo FC

Vincent Oburu-AFC Leopards 

Brian Otieno-Nzoia Sugar

Defender of the year: 

Musa Mohammed -Gor Mahia

Jockins Atudo-Posta Rangers

Godfrey Walusimbi-Gor Mahia

Midfielder of the year: 

George Odhiambo-Gor Mahia

Lawrence Juma-Nzoia Sugar

Michael Madoya-Zoo FC

Golden Boot:

Masoud Juma-Kariobangi Sharks

Coach of the year:

Sam Ssimbwa-Sofapaka

Mike Mururi-Kakamega Homeboyz

Article continues below

William Muluya-Kariobangi Sharks


Meddie Kagere-Gor Mahia

Next article:
India U-16 rally back to hold Bangkok Glass FC U-17 to a draw
Next article:
Win VIP tickets to the FIFA eWorld Cup Finals
Next article:
Transfer news & rumours LIVE: Liverpool leading Alisson chase
Next article:
adidas and Manchester United launch new home kit for season 18/19
Next article:
IFA Shield 2018: Mohun Bagan beat SAIL Burnpur Academy to set up final with Quess East Bengal