Does this year's election mean Chelsea have already won the title?

ShareClose Comments
Theresa May's call will have been music to the ears at Stamford Bridge, having triumphed in all three of the last election years

Chelsea still need to keep focused in order to seal the Premier League crown this year, but recent history suggests that glory is all but assured. 

The stars who could miss the 2018 World Cup

And, curiously, Prime Minister Theresa May's decision to call a general election in the United Kingdom might just have decided the fate of this year's title race. 

The Blues, currently top of the standings and four points clear of Tottenham, boast an impeccable record in election years. 

They have finished champions in every year a vote was held since 2005, topping both the Conservatives and Labour in that regard. 

Prior to the Chelsea winning run, Manchester held the crown of election kings. 

Milan make Fabregas a summer target

Sir Alex Ferguson's side triumphed in both 2001 and 1997, years in which Tony Blair was elected PM for Labour. 

The last general election in the old First Division, meanwhile, coincided with a win for Leeds United, currently down in the Championship. 

Next article:
Ancelotti: Lewandowski will finish his career at Bayern
Next article:
Liverpool team news: Mane starts as Klopp goes all-out attack
Next article:
Can you name all Premier League clubs since inception in 1992?
Next article:
Dybala must lift Juventus in Champions League to match Messi - Tardelli
Next article:
Watford's Chalobah set for knee surgery