Federer jokes Evans handball 'a clear penalty for Switzerland'

ShareClose Comments
After Corry Evans conceded a doubtful spot-kick in a 1-0 win in Thursday's play-off, the Swiss tennis legend defended the decision

Tennis star Roger Federer has joked the controversial spot kick given to Switzerland in their World Cup play-off win away to Northern Ireland was a "clear penalty".

Ricardo Rodriguez scored the only goal of the game in Belfast on Thursday, converting from 12 yards after referee Ovidiu Hategan gave the visitors a penalty for a handball against Corry Evans.

Brazil 6/1 to beat England 1-0

The Northern Ireland midfielder blocked a shot from Xherdan Shaqiri with his side as he turned away from the ball, with Northern Ireland coach Michael O'Neill describing the costly decision against his side as "staggering".

But a tongue-in-cheek Federer, who is preparing to play at the ATP Finals in London, suggested he agreed with the controversial call made the Romanian referee.

Article continues below

"I heard the Northern Ireland guy was trying to catch it, like a handball," the veteran Swiss joked. 

"And it was a clear penalty for Switzerland.”

Switzerland will host the second leg against Northern Ireland on Sunday, with Evans suspended after he was booked following the decision.

Next article:
Liverpool pre-season 2018-19: Fixtures, transfers, squad numbers & complete Premier League schedule
Next article:
How Neymar's decision to leave Barcelona and escape Messi has spectacularly backfired
Next article:
Juventus prioritise Higuain sale amid Chelsea & AC Milan links
Next article:
African All Stars Transfer News & Rumours: Stoke, Swansea & West Brom chase Amartey
Next article:
New Chelsea boss Sarri plays down Hazard to Real Madrid transfer links
Close

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy.

Show more Accept