Baxter announces Bafana Bafana squad for Chan qualifier tie against Zambia

ShareClose Comments
Baxter is expected to step aside and allow Thabo Senong to take charge of the team this weekend

Bafana Bafana head coach Stuart Baxter has named a squad of 25 players for this weekend's Chan qualifier against Zambia. 

There are five new faces from the squad that beat Botswana in the previous round.

Kaizer Chiefs goalkeeper Bruce Bvuma returns to the squad alongside Denwin Farmer, Ayabulela Konqobe, Teboho Mokoena, Masilakhe Phohlongo and Tshegofatso Mabaso, who are the two new faces in the team.  

The first leg will be played on August 12 at a venue yet to be confirmed, with the return leg scheduled for the weekend of August 18-20 in Zambia.

The selected players will assemble on August 6, the South African Football Association (Safa) confirmed.

Goalkeepers: Boalefa Pule, Steven Hoffman, Bruce Bvuma.

Article continues below

Defenders: Siyabonga Nhlapo, Sphiwe Mnguni, Sandile Mthethwa, Tercious Malepe, Mothobi Mvala, Mario Booysen, Denwin Farmer, Ayabulela Konqobe.

Midfielders: Cole Alexander, Tebogo Mokoena, Sipho Mbule, Sibusiso Khumalo, Tshegofatso Mabaso, Dumisani Zuma, Michael Morton, Riyaad Norodien, Siphelele Ntshangase.

Strikers: Bongi Ntuli, Masilakhe Phohlongo, Ryan Moon, Gift Motupa.

Next article:
'He's in the form of his life' - Gerrard believes Salah is world's best player
Next article:
Vieira insists there has been no contact with Arsenal as managerial rumors swirl
Next article:
Liverpool supporter in critical condition after fan clashes
Next article:
It was perfect for 80 minutes - Klopp pleased despite Roma recovery
Next article:
Transfer news & rumours LIVE: Real Madrid to move for Mbappe