Assembly Elections 2017: Churchill Alemao and Nongthombam Biren win; Somatai Shaiza and Elvis Gomes lose

ShareClose Comments
It was a mixed day at office for some members of the Indian football fraternity with only two of them emerging as winners.

Churchill Brothers owner Churchill Alemao emerged victorious but the club's former skipper Somatai Shaiza was not that lucky as a number of well-known faces of Indian football bit the dust in the 2017 assembly elections, results of which were declared on Saturday.

Churchill, who had contested for Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) - an organization which AIFF president Praful Patel also represents - won the Benalulim constituency with a margin of 5191 votes while his brother Joaquim was defeated in Cuncolim. Goa Football Association President Elvis Gomes, who was the chief ministerial candidate for Aam Aadmi Party, also failed to notch up a victory. 

Article continues below

On the other hand, Shaiza, who had grabbed the headlines way back in 2002 when he stromed out of the national team camp after a spat with the coach about his hairstyle, lost his second election in five yearsat the Ukhrul constituency in Manipur. The former East Bengal player had also contested on a Trinamool Congress ticket a few years back, but this time was part of BJP camp and eventually lost out by a narrow 296-vote margin.

In that very state, Nongthombam Biren, who was being touted as one of the frontrunners to be the chief minister of Manipur had BJP won the majority there, won with a comfortable 1206 vote margin in Heingang. The former BSF Jalandhar footballer had started in the 1991 Durand Cup final against East Bengal and is a revered figure in the North-Eastern footballing fraternity.


Next article:
ISL 2017-18: Midfield and injury woes continue to strangle Kerala Blasters
Next article:
How JDT could line-up against Muangthong United
Next article:
'Not much changed' - Zidane boosted by clinical Real Madrid
Next article:
What happened the last time JDT played Muangthong
Next article:
Pumas winger Jesus Gallardo continues making Mexico case