Arabian Gulf League gears up for tenth season

ShareClose Comments
The new Arabian Gulf League season will see 12 teams battle for top honours.

The Arabian Gulf League is back this weekend for a tenth season.

The new campaign kicks-off following the success of last season when the league was named Asia's top domestic competition twice, while the Pro League Committee looks ahead to more progress this season with new development initiatives and marketing projects aimed at raising the value of the competition and enhancing its brand.

This year will see 12 teams instead of 14 battling for glory, following club mergers.

The inaugural matchweek takes place on September 15 and 16 with three matches on each day.

The competition gets underway in Ras Al Khaima where Emirates host Al Dhafra at 17:30.

Article continues below

Al Jazira welcome Ajman to Abu Dhabi's Mohammed bin Zayed Stadium at 17:40 while Al Nasr travel to Sharjah for the 20:30 kick-off.

Day two sees Shabab Al Ahli Dubai's first league match against Hatta at Rashid Stadium at 17:35.

Al Wahda face Dibba at 17:40 and the matchweek concludes by a heavyweight clash between Al Ain and Al Wasl at 20:30 at Al Ain's Khalifa bin Zayed Stadium.

Next article:
Nazliazmi optimistic about securing top-tier safety, denies crisis
Next article:
Tevez urges 'soul of Argentina' Messi not to retire from international football
Next article:
Chelsea vs Perth Glory: Kick-off time, TV channel, live stream, squad news & preview
Next article:
Shaw looking to prove his worth to Mourinho in pre-season
Next article:
Pjanic: Ronaldo 'a huge coup' for Juventus

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy.

Show more Accept