AFC Asian Cup Qualifier: Eleven U-23 players named in preliminary squad for Macau

ShareClose Comments
Indian coach Stephen Constantine has included 11 players from the U-23 side in his 28-man squad for the match against Macau...

11 players who represented India in the AFC U-23 qualifiers in Doha have been named by national coach Stephen Constantine in the preliminary squad of 28 for India’s forthcoming AFC Asian Cup qualifier against Macau slated to be held in Bengaluru on October 11, 2017.

The squad will assemble in Mumbai on September 28 with practice scheduled to kick-off the next day.

India who have won all their three matches so far, sit pretty on the top of Group A with nine points from three matches and a win against Macau will seal a berth at the AFC Asian Cup UAE 2019.

The Men in Blue are unbeaten in their last 11 matches out of which they have won 10 (including the un-official match against Bhutan), creating an all-time Indian record of winning nine consecutive International matches in the process.

Constantine, however, isn’t  willing to read too much into India winning three matches on the trot. “Every match starts afresh. The results of our previous matches are all history and will have no bearing when we kick-off on October 11 at home against Macau,” he stated. “I am looking forward to start training with the boys and need to work hard to keep alive our chances of earning a ticket to the AFC Asian Cup 2019,” he added.

Senior players like CK Vineeth and Amrinder Singh are also back in the Indian squad after a long time but striker Robin Singh misses out.

The list of 28 probables for Macau:

Goalkeepers: Subrata Paul, Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Amrinder Singh, Vishal Kaith.

Article continues below

Defenders: Pritam Kotal, Lalruatthara, Nishu Kumar, Sandesh Jhingan, Anas Edathodika, Salam Ranjan Singh,Sarthak Golui, Jerry Lalrinzuala, Narayan Das.

Midfielders: Jackichand Singh, Udanta Singh, Nikhil Poojary, Eugeneson Lyngdoh, Rowllin Borges, Md. Rafique, Anirudh Thapa, Germanpreet Singh, Halicharan Narzary.

Forwards: Balwant Singh, Allen Deory, Jeje Lalpekhlua, Sunil Chhetri, Hitesh Sharma, CK Vineeth.

Next article:
PKNP secures stay in the Super League
Next article:
Transfer news & rumours LIVE: Chelsea warn Madrid over Hazard
Next article:
Mumbai City FC's Davinder Singh the latest product to emerge from Punjab's ever-growing football factory
Next article:
Elephants edge Red Ants to heap pressure on Perak
Next article:
ISL 2018-19: Jamshedpur FC coach Cesar Ferrando - 'I was sold by the long-term plan'

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy.

Show more Accept