Van Persie and Robben in Netherlands' 30-man World Cup squad

The Manchester United striker remains one of the first names in Louis van Gaal's 30-man squad despite enduring a disappointing season at Old Trafford
Robin van Persie and Arjen Robben are the star names in Louis van Gaal's 30-man Netherlands provisional World Cup squad.

Michel Vorm and Jonathan de Guzman of Swansea City, Tim Krul of Newcastle, Ron Vlaar of Aston Villa and Leroy Fer of Norwich City complete the contingent of players who plied their trade in the Premier League this season. 
Gregory van der Wiel is the most notable absentee from the squad, overlooked in favour of Augsburg's Paul Verhaegh despite earning 37 caps for the senior Oranje side..

Wesley Sneijder and Rafael van der Vaart are also included in the initial squad, as are Nigel de Jong and Dirk Kuyt.

Young Feyenoord defender Terence Kongolo is handed a place as Louis van Gaal looks to experiment with a 5-3-2 system to compensate for the injured Kevin Strootman. Celtic centre-back Virgil van Dijk, however, is not included.

Squad in full:

Jasper Cillessen (Ajax), Michel Vorm (Swansea City), Tim Krul (Newcastle United), Jeroen Zoet (PSV)

Defenders: Paul Verhaegh (Augsburg), Patrick van Aanholt (Vitesse), Daryl Janmaat (Feyenoord), Joel Veltman (Ajax), Stefan de Vrij (Feyenoord), Ron Vlaar (Aston Villa), Bruno Martins Indi (Feyenoord), Karim Rekik (PSV), Terence Kongolo (Feyenoord), Daley Blind (Ajax)

Midfielders: Leroy Fer (Norwich City), Nigel de Jong (AC Milan), Jordy Clasie (Feyenoord), Jonathan de Guzman (Swansea City), Georginio Wijnaldum (PSV), Wesley Sneijder (Galatasaray), Rafael van der Vaart (Hamburg), Tonny Vilhena (Feyenoord)

Forwards: Quincy Promes (Twente), Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich), Jean-Paul Boetius (Feyenoord), Robin van Persie (Manchester United), Klaas-Jan Huntelaar (Schalke), Dirk Kuyt (Fenerbahce), Jeremain Lens (Dynamo Kiev), Memphis Depay (PSV)