Netherlands announce final 23-man squad for Euro 2012

Vurnon Anita, Jeremain Lens, Adam Maher and Siem de Jong are the last to have been deemed surplus to requirements by coach Bert van Marwijk ahead of the summer's showpiece event
Netherlands have named the 23-man squad that will travel to Poland and Ukraine for this summer's European Championship.

Coach Bert van Marwijk had initially selected a provisional group of 36 players, before trimming nine men on the grounds of the form they had showed according to the former Feyenoord boss last Tuesday.

However, he has now announced his final squad to represent the Oranje at Euro 2012, which includes the omissions of Ajax duo Vurnon Anita and Siem de Jong, AZ starlet Adam Maher and PSV attacker Jeremain Lens.

Only Luciano Narsingh and Jetro Willems have had no previous international experience in the Netherlands set-up, with Van Marwijk opting to keep the fulcrum of the side intact.

Netherlands have been drawn in the Euro 2012 Group B, together with Germany, Denmark and Portugal, before facing friendly opposition in the form of Bulgaria, Slovakia and Northern Ireland.

Name Club
Tim Krul Newcastle
Maarten Stekelenburg Roma
Michel Vorm Swansea
Khalid Boulahrouz Stuttgart
Wilfred Bouma PSV
John Heitinga Everton
Joris Mathijsen Malaga
Gregory van der Wiel Ajax
Ron Vlaar Feyenoord
Jetro Willems PSV
Ibrahim Afellay Barcelona
Mark van Bommel AC Milan
Nigel de Jong Man City
Stijn Schaars Sporting
Wesley Sneijder Inter
Kevin Strootman PSV
Rafael van der Vaart Tottenham
Klaas Jan Huntelaar Schalke
Luuk de Jong Twente
Dirk Kuyt Liverpool
Luciano Narsingh Heerenveen
Robin van Persie Arsenal
Arjen Robben Bayern