Barcelona's Dani Alves: I won the ball cleanly and it was not a penalty

Brazilian right-back believes the referee was wrong to award a spot-kick for his challenge on Marcelo that enabled Real Madrid to salvage a 1-1 draw in the Clasico
Barcelona's Dani Alves was furious with referee Cesar Muniz Fernandez after the official awarded a penalty against the right-back in his side's 1-1 draw with Real Madrid.

The Blaugrana were on course for a win via Lionel Messi's converted penalty but Alves was penalised for a challenge on Marcelo in the box, Cristiano Ronaldo scoring from the resulting spot-kick.

Alves denied that he had committed a foul.

"We do not usually talk about referees but sometimes we have to. They try to do their job and usually it goes well but other times they make mistakes. It was not a penalty. I won the ball cleanly," the Brazilian said after the game.

The former Sevilla man looked at the positives of the result and is already anticipating the Copa del Rey final on Wednesday.

"We did a good job and we could have won easily. But football always gives you another opportunity and we will have on Wednesday in the cup final, for which we are very motivated after today's result," he said.

Alves concluded his post-match comments with a dig at rivals Madrid, who he believed played in a defensive manner.

"I was surprised by Real Madrid, who played with so many defenders even when playing for the league [title]," he said.

Our  provides the best breaking news online and our  football fan community is unmatched worldwide. Never miss a thing again!