Arjen Robben, Thomas Mueller, Louis van Gaal all earn top honours from German players' union

The players have spoken...
The German players' union, VDV, announced their awards for the 2009-10 season on Tuesday.

In a landslide, Dutch winger Arjen Robben won the Player of the Year award, earning 72.7 per cent of the vote. Bayern Munich team-mate Bastian Schweinsteiger took second place with 6.2 per cent and Wolfsburg's Edin Dzeko earned 4.9 per cent to earn third place.

Another Bayern star, Thomas Mueller, earned the season's best newcomer award with 73.1 per cent of the vote. Borussia Moenchengladbach's Marco Reus took second place with 10.5 per cent and Bayern's Holger Badstuber earned third with 3.6 per cent.

The coach of the season award went to Bayern gaffer Louis van Gaal, who won with a less convincing 38.8 per cent of the vote. Schalke's Felix Magath placed second with 38.3 per cent and Juergen Klopp of Dortmund earned third with 8.6 per cent.

VDV also announced their team of the season, which consisted of the following: Manuel Neuer (Schalke) - Philipp Lahm (Bayern Munich), Mats Hummels (Dortmund), Sami Hyypia (Leverkusen), Dennis Aogo (Hamburg) - Robben, Schweinsteiger,  Mueller, Toni Kroos (Bayer Leverkusen) - Dzeko, Stefan Kiessling (Leverkusen)

The VDV voting panel consisted of players from Germany's top three and regional leagues.

Our  provides the best breaking news online and our  football fan community is unmatched worldwide. Never miss a thing again!