Celtic trio Lennon, Mulgrew and Forrest pick up SPL awards

The Bhoys, who won their 43rd league title this season, dominated the end-of-season prizes, winning Manager, Player and Young Player of the Year
Celtic enjoyed a clean-sweep at the SPL end of season awards as Neil Lennon, Charlie Mulgrew and James Forrest all picked up individual honours.

Lennon won the Manager of the Year award after masterminding Celtic’s 43rd league title win in a season that included a 17-match winning streak.

Scottish defender Mulgrew added the Player of the Year gong to similar recognition from the Scottish Football Writers Association, Scottish PFA and Celtic's players and fans this year.

The Young Player of the Year award was handed to James Forrest, who also gained awards in that category alongside each of Mulgrew's successes.

Chief executive of the SPL, Neil Doncaster, was keen to highlight the achievements of the winners but insisted that the prizes are awarded on more than just performances on the pitch.

He said: “The Clydesdale Bank Premier League Awards showcases the very best in Scottish football, both on and off the pitch.

"The Clydesdale Bank Premier League is more than just 90 minutes on a Saturday and these awards celebrate the excellent work our clubs do off the pitch to support their local community, develop young Scottish talent and improve the match day experience for fans."