Europa League winners to get Champions League spot from 2015

The governing body has confirmed that the winner of Europe's second competition will be rewarded with a place among the continent's finest
Uefa has announced that the winner of the Europa League will be rewarded with a place in the Champions League the following season from 2015.

The winner of the 2014-15 edition of the competition will be the first team to take advantage of the change as they will enter the 2015-16 Champions League following the decision.

The governing body had long been looking for ways to make the Europa League more attractive and they are confident that awarding the winner a ticket for the top competition will prompt teams to take the tournament more seriously.

"We must do something to improve the Europa League and one way is to have a sporting incentive for the Europa League to qualify for the Champions League," Uefa general secretary Gianni Infantino said.

"The new cycle will begin in 2015."

The Europa League has existed in its current format since 2009-10, with Atletico Madrid, Porto, with Diego Simeone's side claiming a second title in 2012 and Chelsea winning this season's edition.