TEAM NEWS: Adebayor & Defoe start for Tottenham's Europa League clash against Maribor

Following a 1-0 home defeat to Wigan Athletic last time out, Spurs boss Andre Villas-Boas alters his system and names two in attack against the Slovenian outfit
Tottenham manager Andre Villas-Boas has altered his system following the 1-0 home defeat to Wigan Athletic and has named both Jermain Defoe and Emmanuel Adebayor in the starting lineup for the Europa League clash with Maribor.

Defoe was withdrawn for Adebayor with Spurs trailing against Roberto Martinez's side last time out, but the Portuguese manager has decided to name the pair in attack this evening.

The substitution was met with a section of jeers from the home support at White Hart Lane, but the former Chelsea boss has named a more attacking system as Spurs look to progress from the Europa League Group J.

Hugo Lloris is preferred in goal over Brad Friedel, while Michael Dawson and Kyle Naughton replace William Gallas and Steven Caulker respectively.

American Clint Dempsey drops to the bench as youngster Tom Carroll is employed in midfield and Sandro, who is struggling with a calf injury, also makes way for Togolese striker Adebayor.

Tottenham: Lloris; Walker, Vertonghen, Dawson, Naughton; Lennon, Huddlestone, Carroll, Bale; Adebayor, Defoe

Subs: Cudicini, Gallas, Livermore, Dempsey, Sigurdsson, Falque, Mason

Maribor: Handanovic, Milec, Rajcevic, Arghus, Mejac, Ibraimi, Mertelj, Filipovic, Cvijanovic, Tavares, Beric

Subs: Pridigar, Vidovic, Mezga, Komazec, Potokar, Viler, Dodlek