thumbnail Hello,

Liverpool striker Carroll felt FA Cup final 'equaliser' should have stood against Chelsea

The former Newcastle United frontman thought his late goal should not have been chalked off and believes the cup triumph was just not to be for Kenny Dalglish's side

Liverpool striker Andy Carroll has admitted he initially thought he had scored an equaliser in his side's FA Cup final loss to Chelsea.

The £35 million man connected with a thumping header at the far post with just eight minutes remaining and with the Reds losing 2-1, only to see the ball dragged out of the goal by Petr Cech.

However, Carroll and his team-mates' celebrations were cut short as the referee and his assistant quickly deemed that the ball had not crossed the line, with replays being inconclusive as to whether the goal should have stood.

And Carroll believes that the incident just proved it was not his team's day, calling Liverpool "unlucky".

“I thought it was over the line. I thought it hit the underside of the bar which means it did, really, but I haven’t seen it back. I thought it was unlucky. We had a few chances but couldn’t put them away but obviously it’s not to be," the striker told ITV.

“I don’t really know [about goal-line technology] to be honest. All I know is we tried hard."

Related

From the web