Cech certain Carroll header did not cross the line as Chelsea win FA Cup

The 29-year-old is hoping the Blues push on and secure their second trophy of the season in the Champions League, while Drogba suggested it was one of his toughest finals yet

Chelsea goalkeeper Petr Cech is convinced that Andy Carroll‘s header did not cross the line during his side’s FA Cup final victory at Wembley on Saturday.

Following goals from Ramires and Didier Drogba the Blues were seemingly cruising to victory, but the introduction of Andy Carroll to the Reds attack changed the game.

Carroll netted soon after to set up a nervy final 25 minutes, and thought he had completed the comeback with just eight minutes remaining when hammering a header inside Cech’s near post but the referee and his assistant thought otherwise, with replays inconclusive, and the goalkeeper insisted he kept the ball from crossing the line.

Cech told ITV: “I don’t think it was over the line - not at all. If the ball was over the whole of the line then I couldn’t have put it outside of the post. I got my arms there and tried to push it out, so I’m sure it wasn’t over.

"I haven't seen the replay [but] I'm 100% persuaded it was not in and knew it from the first moment so I’m sure the officials got it right."

The victory was Cech’s fourth FA Cup, a record-equalling claim for a goalkeeper, but he suggested it is still just as sweet as the first, adding that he is looking for the team to also bag the Champions League when they meet Bayern Munich in the May 19 final.

"What we have achieved is fantastic and we still have one more final to go and hopefully we can make it two trophies. I have won the Cup for the fourth time but it doesn't matter how many times you do it, this cup is still special and the atmosphere is fantastic,” he contined.

The west London side have been in great form since Di Matteo took over as interim boss, but Cech was on whether it puts the Italian in a good position to take control on a permanent basis.

He added: "I'm not the owner or the board of the club but obviously the result is fantastic for him as well."

Drogba's goal, which ultimately won his side the Cup, was his eighth goal in eight Wembley appearances.

The 34-year-old, who has also won the FA Cup four times with the Blues, believed it was one of his toughest finals, while suggesting it is a stepping stone to more success.

"[This year’s final] and the first game against Manchester United [in 2007, were the hardest] - Liverpool are a difficult team to play,” Drogba added.

"I think today [was] a great result because after losing at the end against Newcastle it was very difficult for us, especially losing at home. But coming here and doing well today is the first step."