Redknapp: Referee guessed over Chelsea goal

The Blues beat Spurs 5-1 in the FA Cup semi-final at Wembley on Sunday with help from a controversial strike awarded to Juan Mata when the ball clearly did not cross the line
By Greg Stobart at Wembley

Tottenham manager Harry Redknapp claimed referee Martin Atkinson guessed his decision to award a controversial goal to Chelsea in their 5-1 win over Spurs in the FA Cup semi-final.

The Blues set up a final against Liverpool next month with an emphatic victory, but only after Juan Mata put Roberto Di Matteo’s side two up early in the second half despite replays showing the ball clearly did not cross the line.

Asked whether he felt the referee guessed the decision, Redknapp said: “He must have [guessed]. I don’t think you can be sure, he’s just made a mistake unfortunately.

“The second goal was a disaster, it was nowhere near a goal. He’s made a big mistake, he hasn’t done it on purpose.

“I don’t see how he can give the goal, it’s nowhere near over the line. There were bodies lying on the line, there’s no way the ball can go anywhere near over the line.

“There’s nothing we can do about it now. You need goal-line technology surely, we can’t keep going like we’re going at the moment with important decisions not being correct.”

Chelsea are 4/6 with Paddy Power to win the FA Cup
Atkinson, who missed a horror tackle by Mario Balotelli on Alex Song last week, spoke to Redknapp after the game and admitted he knew he had made a mistake.

Redknapp added: “I spoke to him and he said he feels worse than I do. I said ‘I don’t think so!' He said he knows he’s made a mistake and he’s going to have a bad week as well.

“It was key moment but we were still bang in the game at 2-1. We were chasing the game and we ended up four forwards on the pitch. I brought another forward on and we looked to open. We got punished and they picked us off.”