thumbnail Hello,

The Lactics have seen the Irishman's dismissal and subsequent three-match ban rescinded, with Roberto Martinez insisting the forward had done 'nothing wrong'

Wigan striker Conor Sammon’s red card received in the 5-0 defeat to Manchester United at Old Trafford on Monday has been overturned by the FA.

The Scot was sent off by referee Phil Dowd after catching United’s Michael Carrick with a flailing arm, much to the fury of boss Roberto Martinez. 

The club launched an appeal against the three-match ban following the game, with an FA hearing on Thursday opting to rescind the dismissal.

An FA statement reads: “At a Regulatory Commission hearing today, a claim for wrongful dismissal from Wigan Athletic striker Conor Sammon was upheld. As a result, Sammon’s three match suspension has been withdrawn.”

Following the Irishman's sending-off, the Spanish boss was quick to defend his player, insisting he had done nothing wrong.

Martinez told BBC: "Conor did nothing wrong. You need to accept punishment when you do something wrong but this is a normal phase of play.

"The red card is the wrong call. It would be very difficult to see Conor missing for three games but we'll have to wait and see."

Related

From the web