Mistake spells end of tournament...
Larrionda and linesman Mauricio Espinosa found themselves at the centre of controversy during England's 4-1 second round defeat to Germany on Sunday after they incorrectly denied Fabio Capello's team an equaliser with the score at 2-1.
Replays clearly showed that Lampard's shot had crossed the line after hitting Manuel Neuer's bar, but neither Larrionda or Espinosa awarded an equalising goal.
The oversight has re-opened the debate about video technology, and launched a number of attacks on the governing body's decision not to consider systems such as Hawk-Eye before.
Italian referee Roberto Rosetti has also failed to make the cut after he allowed Carlos Tevez's opening goal in Argentina's 3-1 last 16 victory against Mexico to stand, despite the Manchester City man clearly being in an offside position.
English referee Howarb Webb, plus assistants Darren Cannon and Michael Mullarkey, have been retained, however.