thumbnail Hello,

Primeira Liga

  • 19 May 2013
  • • 18:30
  • • Estádio do Sport Lisboa e Benfica (da Luz), Lisboa
  • Referee: Marco Ferreira
  • • Attendance: 51349

Unbeaten Porto claim Portuguese title

Unbeaten Porto claim Portuguese title

Festejos del Porto

The Estadio Do Dragao outfit secure Liga honours for a third successive season, as their final-day victory seals the deal despite Benfica's success against Moreirense

Porto have been crowned Portuguese champions for the 27th time without suffering a single defeat thanks to a 2-0 win over Pacos Ferreira on Sunday.

The Estadio Do Dragao outfit led the Liga standings by a point going into the final day of the campaign and needed a win to seal the title, which goals from Lucho Gonzalez and Jackson Martinez duly supplied.

They put the result at risk on the hour mark when right-back Danilo was given his marching orders for a second bookable offence but they eventually held out for their 24th win of the season.

The title triumph is especially notable as Porto went the entire domestic campaign unbeaten for the second time in their history - only Benfica in the 1976-77 season have done likewise.

The Eagles, who needed a win to have any chance of wrestling the title back from their rivals, performed well to come from behind to record a 3-1 success over Moreirense but it was not enough to take the championship from Porto's grasp, having been usurped at the top of the table by Vitor Pereira's side following the previous round's defeat.

The title is Porto's third on the bounce and their ninth in the past 11 years, having started their impressive haul of league triumphs in 2002 under the reign of Jose Mourinho.

For Benfica, the agony of missing out on the title comes just four days after they lost the Europa League final 2-1 to Chelsea, although they can yet salvage a trophy in the Portuguese Cup decider against Vitoria Guimaraes.