thumbnail Hello,

The Blancos beat Elche on Wednesday with a controversial, last-gasp spot kick, and the Barcelona chief could not believe the decision.

Barcelona president Sandro Rosell has scoffed at the decision to give Real Madrid a stoppage-time penalty that allowed Los Blancos to beat Elche 2-1.

Cristiano Ronaldo's free kick looked set to see the his side through Wednesday's Liga clash, but the hosts equalized in added time to make a draw look certain.

Referee Cesar Muniz Fernandez, who had been making questionable calls perceived to be in the visitors' favor all game, made a controversial decision to give Carlo Ancelotti's men a penalty that Ronaldo converted.

Rosell mocked the call and said the decision speaks for itself.

"I still can not believe it," Rosell told reporters at Thursday's RFEF assembly in Bilbao. "Looking at the evidence, there's no need for me to make any more comment on the issue."

The result means Real Madrid sits just two points behind the Blaugrana in La Liga, as opposed to four points, while Atletico Madrid is sandwiched between them with six wins out of six games.

The referee in the Elche-Madrid game, Fernandez, has been rested for the next two matchdays by Spain's Refereeing Technical Committee following the torrent of criticism toward his decisions.

Related

From the web