thumbnail Hello,

The Montreal Impact exercised their option on 11 players, bringing the total number of players confirmed from last year’s expansion season to 20.

There won’t be any revolution in store for the Montreal Impact this offseason.

The club confirmed on Friday afternoon that it had exercised its option on 11 players: goalkeeper Evan Bush, defenders Jeb Brovsky, Hassoun Camara, Dennis Iapichino, Calum Mallace, Zarek Valentin and Karl W. Ouimette, as well as midfielders Lamar Neagle, Sanna Nyassi, Collen Warner and Sinisa Ubiparipovic will all be returning next season.

Together with the nine players that were confirmed in October, next year’s Impact will have 20 players from this year’s expansion season. Club sporting director Nick De Santis explained via a press release that he’s proud of the base that’s been put in place and hopes the team will be able to build off the achievements of the first year.

“We are very pleased to be able to bring back the majority of our team for 2013, including several key members.” said De Santis. “We feel very strongly about the foundation of the team that has been put in place. We look forward to seeing this group continue to grow together as we direct our focus on the challenges of 2013.”

The Impact also confirmed that Bernardo Corradi, Miguel Montano and Bryan Arguez would not be returning, which leaves the club with three available international spots.

Montreal was one of many teams that decided not to acquire any players in the first phase of Friday’s MLS re-entry draft. Chicago Fire’s acquisition of forward Maicon Santos was the only move made in the round.  Impact defender Shavar Thomas was available, but was not selected and he isn’t expected to return to the club for next year.

Midfielder Justin Mapp was also supposed to take part in the re-entry draft, but the team announced Friday morning that he opted to negotiate a new contract with the club instead. There has yet to be any agreement between the two parties.

The next round of the entry-draft will take place next Friday.

2013 MONTREAL IMPACT ROSTER (as of December 7, 2012)

Goalkeepers (2): Bush, Troy Perkins

Defenders (8): Brovsky, Camara, Ferrari, Iapichino, Alessandro Nesta, Karl Ouimette, Nelson Rivas, Valentin

Midfielders (8): Davy Arnaud, Patrice Bernier, Felipe, Mallace, Neagle, Nyassi, Ubiparipovic, Collen Warner

Forwards (2): Marco Di Vaio, Andrew Wenger



From the web