thumbnail Hello,

Head coach Sean Fleming named his 21-player squad ahead of the 2013 FIFA U-17 World Cup, which will be held in the United Arab Emirates. Canada's group is based in Dubai.

Canada's only hope for competitive international soccer in 2013 lies with a bunch of teenagers.

Sean Fleming announced Thursday his 24-player roster that will represent Canada at the upcoming 2013 FIFA U-17 World Cup in the United Arab Emirates. Three of the players will serve as alternates in case of injury.

“I have belief in our team,” Fleming told “The commitment and dedication from the boys has been fantastic.”

A majority of the players on the roster are on the books with the country's four fully professional clubs, a reflection of the recent growth of the game in Canada that has seen the under-17 side qualify for two consecutive World Cups.

The Vancouver Whitecaps will be represented by five members of their Residency program, while the Toronto FC Academy has four players on Fleming's roster. The Montreal Impact boasts three members of its youth program in the national team, while NASL side FC Edmonton contributed a trio of players as well.

The Canadians will train in the UAE for two weeks prior to kicking off their tournament on Oct. 19 against Austria. Fleming's side will also face Iran on Oct. 22 before closing out group play against Argentina on Oct. 25.

All of Canada's matches will take place in Dubai.


GOALKEEPERS (3): Marco Carducci (Vancouver Whitecaps FC Residency), 
Christian Kaiswatum (FC Edmonton Reserves), Daniel Milton (Blackpool FC)

DEFENDERS (6): Alex Comsia (Stade Lavallois Mayenne FC), Mathieu Laurent (Mississauga SC), Elias Roubos (Toronto FC Academy), Kevon Black (Toronto FC Academy), Eric Davies (FC Dallas Academy), Aron Mkungilwa (Académie Impact Montréal)

MIDFIELDERS (12): Hanson Boakai (FC Edmonton), Adam Bouchard (Defensor Sporting Club), Marco Bustos (Vancouver Whitecaps FC Residency), Mikaël Cantave (Union Sportive de la Jeanne d’Arc), Matthew Chow  (Vancouver Whitecaps FC Residency), Marco-Leonel Dominguez (Académie Impact Montréal), Kianz Gonzales-Froese (Vancouver Whitecaps FC Residency), Jordan Haynes (Vancouver Whitecaps FC Residency), Jose Lopez (FC Edmonton Reserves), Ali Musse (WSA North Stars), Derick Sequeira (Toronto FC Academy), Nevello Yoseke  (Académie Impact Montréal)

FORWARDS (3): Andrew Gordon (Woodbridge Strikers), Jordan Hamilton (Toronto FC Academy), El Mehdi Ibn Brahim (Braves d'Ahuntsic)