thumbnail Hello,

Benito Floro summoned a couple of fresh faces ahead of Canada's meeting with the Socceroos. The match will take place later this month in London, England.

Canada has announced its squad for an upcoming match against Australia.

Head coach Benito Floro called up 23 players to his second camp in charge of the Canadian national team, which culminates in a friendly against the Socceroos on Oct. 15 at London's Craven Cottage.

“This camp and match against Australia will be important as we continue to work on establishing our team’s tactical structure,” Floro told "With each camp we need to continue to build towards specific goals and maintain a certain quality of play. Australia is a strong opponent and will test our latest key learnings.”

As he did in his initial camp, Floro has summoned a mix of youngsters and veterans as he looks to rebuild a program that has slipped to 106th in the latest FIFA world rankings. Training alongside national team stalwarts Dwayne De Rosario and Julian de Guzman are 18-year-old Samuel Piette and newcomers Dylan Carreiro and Michael Petrasso.

Both Carreiro and Petrasso have extensive experience with Canada's youth sides, but the Queens Park Rangers duo will be making their first appearances in a senior team camp. Neither player will be involved in the match against Australia, however.

The Aussies are coached by Holger Osieck, the man who led Canada to a Gold Cup championship in 2000.


GOALKEEPERS (2): Milan Borjan (Sivasspor), 
Lars Hirschfeld (Vålerenga)

DEFENDERS (7): Doneil Henry (Toronto FC), Dejan Jaković (D.C. United), Adam Straith (Wehen Wiesbaden), Marcel de Jong (FC Augsburg), David Edgar (Burnley FC), Ashtone Morgan (Toronto FC), Nik Ledgerwood (Hammarby)

MIDFIELDERS (10): Kyle Bekker (Toronto FC), Dylan Carreiro (Queens Park Rangers), Julian de Guzman  (Skoda Xanthi), Atiba Hutchinson (Besiktas), Jonathan Osorio (Toronto FC), Samuel Piette (Fortuna Düsseldorf), Stefan Cebara (Unattached), Dwayne De Rosario (D.C. United), Michael Petrasso (Queens Park Rangers), Russell Teibert (Vancouver Whitecaps)

FORWARDS (4): Marcus Haber (Notts County), Iain Hume (Preston North End), Simeon Jackson (Eintracht Braunschweig), Tosaint Ricketts (Bucaspor)