thumbnail Hello,

The turn of the century side is part of this year’s induction class as the Team of Distinction.

More than fourteen years after its unlikely run through the CONCACAF Gold Cup tournament, the 2000 Canadian men's national team will be inducted into the Canadian Soccer Hall of Fame.

The Holger Osieck-led team, captained by current television personality Jason de Vos, rode a staunch defensive output and timely goals to capture the continental title and qualify for the following year's FIFA Confederations Cup. Canada's victory in 2000 remains the only time the Gold Cup was won by a country other than Mexico or the United States.

In addition to the Gold Cup-winning side, fellow inductees in the 2014 Half of Fame class include Harry Manson (Pioneer), Isabelle Morneau, Geri Donnely and Carmine Marcantonio (Players), Chris Bennet and Hector Vergara (Builders), and the Edmonton Angels (Jubilee Trophy).