TEASER: Which Australian has made the Goal 50?

Up against stiff competition from the very best players across the globe, an Aussie star has made the cut in 2014. Can you guess who wowed the judges to justify their inclusion?
It's quickly become one of the biggest, most comprehensive and prestigious individual awards in world football.

Since its inception in 2008, the Goal 50 has been won by Wesley Sneijder, Cristiano Ronaldo (twice) and Lionel Messi, with the Barcelona star a three-time winner and current holder.

At 22.30 AEST, the 2014 winner will be revealed following an exhaustive process involving voting and passionate lobbying from Goal's massive team of journalists and editors around the world.

Votes are cast regionally and nationally - every territory is guaranteed to be thoroughly scouted - and our network of experts and analysts ensure nobody, regardless of club, country, age or position, misses out on the chance to make the list.

Players are judged on their level of consistency over the past season, their big-game performances, footballing legacy and the success of their team at both club and international level.

We are proud and excited to reveal that an Australian player has beaten out stiff competition to make the cut.

Keep your eyes glued to Goal, be it on desktop, laptop, tablet or mobile - and keep a close eye on our social media channels - to find out which Aussie is rubbing shoulders with the game's greats this year.


Which Australian do you think made it into the 2014 Goal 50?

Make your voice heard ahead of the announcement. Get involved via our Goal 50 section this month, give us all your views on the debate by commenting below, and by getting in touch on Facebook or Twitter using the hashtag #Goal50.