The top-30 EAFF clubs: Sydney FC

Goal Asia will list its top-30 EAFF clubs, featuring the heavyweights of Japan, China, Australia, South Korea and Hong Kong. It's the turn of two-time A-League winners' Sydney FC

Only founded in 2004, Sydney FC's history may be brief but they have already managed to secure some success in their early years.

The club was formed in order to participate in Australia's newly created national club competition, the A-League, replacing the National Soccer League, and has been an ever-present since the competition's inaugural season in 2005.

On the domestic front, Sydney have won two A-League championships, the first in their maiden season in 2006 and another 2010. They have were crowned Premiers in the 2009-10 season, and also finished as runners-up in 2005-06 season.

The Sky Blues have also competed in the Asian Champions League twice, reaching the group stages on both occasions in 2007 and 2011. Sydney finished second in the group stages to eventual champions Urawa Red Diamonds in 2007.

Despite the early signs of success, Sydney have struggled to maintain their progress in recent times, finishing in seventh and missing out on a finals spot in the 2012-13 season.


Sydney host their home matches at the Allianz Stadium, also commonly known as the Sydney Football Stadium (SFS). With a capacity of 45,500, the SFS was initially designed in 1988 for rugby league matches, but its ideal location near the city centre has meant it is also now used for football and rugby union.


Sydney FC's youth team was formed in 2008 to participate in the National Youth League, for players between the ages of 16 and 21. They not only claimed the Premier's Plate, but went on to win the Grand Final in their first season. In 2009, Sydney also developed an elite youth academy at Macquarie University to help produce younger talent from the ages of 14-18.


World Cup-winner and Italian legend Alessandro Del Piero is gearing up for his second season at Sydney FC, and has already made a lasting impression among fans and players alike.

The marquee player amassed 14 goals in his first A-League campaign, the highest tally of any Sydney player in one season.

He has been in the headlines of late after welcoming Cesare Prandelli's suggestion that the veteran could be in line for an Italy recall


Farina replaced Ian Crook to take over Sydney in November 2012. His record at the Sky Blues has been inconsistent since he took charge, winning seven of his 19 matches in charge, losing seven and drawing five.

He has previously guided Brisbane Strikers to a NSL Championship in 1997 and Australia to two Nations Cup titles in 2000 and 2004. Farina also managed fellow A-League club Brisbane Roar from 2006-2009.

See the other nominations to Goal Asia's top-30 EAFF clubs:

Ulsan Hyundai

Sanfrecce Hiroshima

South China

Melbourne Victory

Goal Australia now has its own and account, so for all the latest news and features on Australian football follow us by clicking on the above links