thumbnail Hello,

Double honour for Melbourne Victory winger Marco Rojas at A-League awards

New Zealand international Marco Rojas was a comprehensive winner of the A-League's 2012-13 Johnny Warren Medal, also taking out the Young Player of the Year award Indonesia   By JAMES RANSON

Melbourne Victory dynamo Marco Rojas has claimed the Johnny Warren Medal after a breakout season for the A-League club.

The diminutive 21-year-old polled more than twice the votes of runner-up and Sydney FC marquee Alessandro Del Piero to receive the A-League's premier personal accolade.

Despite his Victory side bowing out of the A-League finals race on Sunday, New Zealand international Rojas - out of contract at the club and linked with a move abroad - lit up the league with a number of memorable goals among 15 for the season.

Golden Boot winner Daniel McBreen, whose Central Coast Mariners side knocked Victory out, was third on 280 votes after his 17 goals for the season, behind Juventus legend Del Piero [449] and Rojas [908].

McBreen's team-mate and Rojas' New Zealand counterpart Michael McGlinchey was fourth [239 votes] from Adelaide United playmaker Dario Vidosic [222].

In other awards, Rojas' team-mate Marco Flores picked up goal of the year for his Week 5 strike against the Wellington Phoenix, while premiership-winning Western Sydney coach Tony Popovic picked up the coach of the year award in his maiden season.

Brisbane Roar's Clare Polkinghorne won the Julie Dolan Medal for W-League player of the year and team-mate Tameka Butt received the players' player of the year award.

In an unusual twist, Brisbane Roar coach Mike Mulvey was awarded W-League coach of the year for his efforts with Melbourne Victory despite securing a job with Roar in the A-League mid-season.

Adelaide United's Awer Mabil picked up the National Youth League player of the year.

Goal Australia now has its own and account, so for all the latest news and features on Australian football follow us by clicking on the above links