Bailey Wright picked in Socceroos' World Cup squad

Ange Postecoglou has sprung something of a surprise in naming his 30-man squad, with the uncapped PNE stopper included
Preston North End defender Bailey Wright is the most surprising inclusion in Ange Postecoglou's provisional 30-man Socceroos squad ahead of the FIFA World Cup in Brazil.

Wright is joined in the squad by fellow centre-back Curtis Good, despite the Newcastle United man's playing time on loan at Dundee United being severely restricted by injury in recent months.

Uncapped forward Ben Halloran, who had to pull out of the friendly squad to face Ecuador in March, has received another call-up following his impressive form for Fortuna Dusseldorf in the 2. Bundesliga this season.

Newcastle Jets trio of goalkeeper Mark Birighitti, utility Josh Brillante and striker Adam Taggart have all been selected, although arguably only the latter, the 2013-14 A-League golden boot winner, is likely to survive the final cut to 23 players.

While Tim Cahill was surely assured of a place in the squad, he is joined by fellow veterans in striker Josh Kennedy, fullback Luke Wilkshire and midfielder Mark Bresciano, who had been banned from playing at Al Gharafa for four months this season due to an illegal transfer from his previous club.

Crystal Palace midfielder Mile Jedinak is expected to captain the Socceroos in Brazil if he recovers from a groin injury suffered on the final day of the Premier League season.

"The squad has been selected with form and fitness as key indicators as well as having one eye on the future," Postecoglou said in a statement.

"We face a formidable challenge in Brazil but it is also a big opportunity and we head to the World Cup with no barriers as we look to write a new chapter in our rich football history."

Australia will begin their pre-tournament training camp in Gosford this week ahead of their farewell friendly against South Africa in Sydney on May 26.

Their first match of the World Cup is against Chile in Cuiaba on June 13.

Goalkeepers: Mat Ryan (Club Brugge), Mitch Langerak (Borussia Dortmund), Eugene Galekovic (Adelaide United), Mark Birighitti (Newcastle Jets)

Defenders: Matthew Spiranovic (Western Sydney Wanderers), Ryan McGowan (Shandong Luneng), Ivan Franjic (Brisbane Roar), Jason Davidson (Heracles), Curtis Good (Newcastle United), Alex Wilkinson (Jeonbuk Motors), Luke Wilkshire (Dinamo Moscow), Bailey Wright (Preston North End).

Midfielders: Mark Milligan (Melbourne Victory), Mile Jedinak (Crystal Palace), James Holland (Austria Vienna), Matt McKay (Brisbane Roar), Dario Vidosic (FC Sion), Mark Bresciano (Al Gharafa), Massimo Luongo (Swindon Town), Adam Sarota (Utrecht), Oliver Bozanic (Luzern), Tom Rogic (Celtic), Josh Brillante (Newcastle Jets)

Forwards: Tim Cahill (New York Red Bulls), Tommy Oar (Utrecht), James Troisi (Atalanta), Mathew Leckie (FSV Frankfurt), Adam Taggart (Newcastle Jets), Josh Kennedy (Nagoya Grampus), Ben Halloran (Fortuna Dusseldorf).