Final Socceroos squad named for East Asian Cup qualifiers

All but four of the 20-man squad hail from A-League clubs, with Holger Osieck's men set to depart for Hong Kong on Friday ahead of Monday's opener Indonesia   By PADDY HIGGS

Australia coach Holger Osieck has settled on his final squad for the Socceroos' EAFF East Asian Cup qualifying campaign in December, with eight players in line to make their international debut.

Targeting a place in the tournament's finals in South Korea in July 2013, Osieck and his squad - trimmed from an initial 25 to 20 - will depart for Hong Kong on Friday.

Adelaide United playmaker Dario Vidosic, Guangzhou R&F midfielder Rostyn Griffiths and veteran Dinamo Moscow right-back Luke Wilkshire were all ruled out through injury, with Vidosic's team-mate Osama Malik and Brisbane Roar winger Ben Halloran the unlucky duo to be cut.

It means potential Socceroos debuts for Terry Antonis, Dino Djulbic, Ivan Franjic, Michael Marrone, Aaron Mooy, Matt Smith, Adam Taggart and Mat Ryan, with the latter to battle Adelaide's Eugene Galekovic for the gloves.

The squad has been drawn largely from the A-League and contains just four overseas-based players, as the match days fall outside Fifa dates.

Osieck's side faces a grueling schedule of four games in seven days, beginning with the opening match with Hong Kong on Monday.

The Socceroos must finish top of the qualifying standings in order to win a place at the tournament proper, ahead of the hosts, North Korea, Guam and Chinese Taipei.


Terry Antonis - Sydney FC
Eli Babalj - Red Star Belgrade
Aziz Behich - Melbourne Heart
Robert Cornthwaite - Chunnam Dragons
Dino Djulbic - Guizhou Renhe
Ivan Franjic - Brisbane Roar
Brett Emerton - Sydney FC
Eugene Galekovic - Adelaide United
Richard Garcia - Melbourne Heart
Scott Jamieson - Perth Glory
Michael Marrone - Melbourne Heart
Matt McKay - Busan I'Park
Mark Milligan - Melbourne Victory
Aaron Mooy - Western Sydney Wanderers
Tom Rogic - Central Coast Mariners
Mat Ryan - Central Coast Mariners
Matt Smith - Brisbane Roar
Adam Taggart - Newcastle Jets
Archie Thompson - Melbourne Victory
Michael Thwaite - Perth Glory

Goal Australia has its own and account, so for all the latest news and features on Australian football follow us by clicking on the above links