Holman, Shipard take top honours at Australian Football Awards

The Aston Villa midfielder won his first top award at the AFA, with Canberra United star Sally Shipard winning the female equalivalent at the awards gala in Sydney
GOAL.com Indonesia   By SPORTAL

Aston Villa midfielder Brett Holman has been named Male Footballer of the Year at the fourth annual Australian Football Awards in Sydney.

The English Premier League based Socceroo won the honour for the first time - with Mark Schwarzer (2009-10, 2010-11) and Matt McKay (2011-12) the previous winners.

Matilda Sally Shipard took out the Female Footballer of the Year, only days before she heads to Japan with Canberra United for the Womens' Club World Championship.

New Football Federation Australia chief executive officer David Gallop presided over his first awards ceremony and labelled the night a success.

"I congratulate all the winners for their contribution to a stellar year for the game in 2012," Gallop said.

Central Coast goalkeeper Mat Ryan took out his second consecutive Male Under-20 Footballer of the Year award, while Melbourne Victory's Stephanie Catley won the women's equivalent.

Goal Australia now has its own and account, so for all the latest news and features on Australian and world football follow us by clicking on the above links.