thumbnail Hello,

The Matildas are out to compete in the East Asian Cup for the first time, but have to win through the final round of qualifying to take their place Indonesia   By GOAL.COM

Australia coach Tom Sermanni has named his final squad for the Matildas' EAFF East Asian Cup qualifying campaign in China, beginning on November 20.

Entering the competition for the first time, the Matildas must progress through preliminary round 2 to win a place in the main tournament in South Korea in July, 2013.

Only the top side in the four-team group - also containing China, Chinese Taipei and Hong Kong - will reach the final stage, taking on the already qualified Japan, South Korea and North Korea.

Sermanni, who will soon depart the Australia post to become head coach of the United States national women's team, has named a 20-strong squad for the qualifying matches.

He has had injuries to contend with [among them Lydia Williams and Elise Kellond-Knight], while no players have been called up from Canberra United due to the W-League champions' participation in the International Women's Club Championship in Japan.

But there are still places for established Matildas Kate Gill, Caitlin Foord and Lisa De Vanna, among others.

"While I may be departing following these matches, achieving qualification for this important Asian tournament is key to the ongoing development of the team as part of their preparations for the 2014 AFC Women’s Asian Cup and 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Canada,” Sermanni said via statement. 

“… The continued progress of this fantastic array of emerging talent we currently have in our squad is key to our future success; integrating these players with the senior players will put Australia in a formidable position for the next period of their development."


Brianna DAVEY – Melbourne Victory

Mackenzie ARNOLD – Canberra United

Caitlin FOORD – Sydney FC

Ellyse PERRY – Sydney FC

Clare POLKINGHORNE – Brisbane Roar

Laura ALLEWAY – Brisbane Roar

Emma CHECKER – Adelaide United

Servet UZUNLAR – Western Sydney Wanderers

Stephanie CATLEY – Melbourne Victory

Alanna KENNEDY – Sydney FC

Collette McCALLUM – Perth Glory

Emily VAN EGMOND – Newcastle Jets

Katrina GORRY – Brisbane Roar

Tameka BUTT – Brisbane Roar

Teigen ALLEN – Western Sydney Wanderers

Samantha KERR – Sydney FC

Kyah SIMON – Sydney FC

Kathryn GILL – Perth Glory

Emily GIELNIK – Brisbane Roar

Lisa DE VANNA – Perth Glory

Goal Australia now has its own and account, so for all the latest news and features on Australian football follow us by clicking on the above links