Paul Okon names Young Socceroos squad for AFF tournament in Vietnam

With a busy few months approaching, Okon has called on just one overseas-based player in his 20-man squad, giving local players a chance to push their claims

Young Socceroos coach Paul Okon has named his 20-man squad to compete at the ASEAN Football Federation Under-19 tournament, starting on September 2 in Vietnam.

With Australia taking part in November's AFC Under-19 Championships in the United Arab Emirates, Okon has included 16 A-League based players for upcoming matches against Iran, Vietnam and Uzbekistan in Ho Chi Minh City.

Sydney FC midfield starlet Terry Antonis headlines the local contingent, which includes new Melbourne Heart defender David Vrankovic, Adelaide United's Jake Barker-Daish and Jesse Makarounas of Perth Glory.

Reading midfielder Ryan Edwards is the sole overseas-based representative in the squad, while three players either playing in Australia's state leagues or with the Australian Institute of Sport have also been selected.

The championships in the UAE will serve as qualifiers for the 2013 Fifa Under-20 World Cup in Turkey, and Okon is determined for his players to make the most of their opportunity.

"This will be a very good tournament for us to get a good indication of where we are at in our preparation against opposition that has also qualified for the AFC Under-19 Championship," Okon said.

"The players will also be a lot fitter than at the recent AFC Under-22 Championship qualifiers in Indonesia and will be closer to the other team in terms of conditioning.

"This will also be the last occasion that we will be without our overseas based players so it is also an opportunities for the Australia-based players to stake a claim for final selection."

The Young Socceroos will face a Hong Kong team combined of both U19 and U21 players in a friendly match on August 29 before kicking off the AFF tournament four days later.

Full squad: Terry Antonis [Sydney FC], Jake Barker-Daish [Adelaide United], Josh Brillante [Newcastle Jets], Corey Brown [Brisbane Roar], Reece Caira [Western Sydney Wanderers], Connor Chapman [Newcastle Jets], Mitch Cooper [Newcastle Jets], Ryan Edwards [Reading FC], Ben Garuccio [AIS], Jason Geria [Brisbane Roar], Hagi Gligor [Sydney FC], Paul Izzo [GK, Adelaide United], Jesse Makarounas [Perth Glory], Nick Munro [GK, Croydon Kings], Luke O'Dea [Bentleigh Greens], Brandon O'Neill [Perth Glory], Daniel Petkovski [Sydney FC], Adam Taggart [Newcastle Jets], Riley Woodcock [Perth Glory], David Vrankovic [Melbourne Heart].

Follow Sacha Pisani on

Goal Australia has its own and account, so for all the latest news and features on Australian football follow us by clicking on the above links.