Australian-based players dominate Young Socceroos squad

A change of date for the AFC Under-22 Championships qualifiers means coach Paul Okon has drawn the majority of his players from Australia, but he remains confident

Paul Okon has named his 22-man squad for the Young Socceroos' AFC Under-22 Championships qualifiers in Indonesia in July.

Football Federation Australia have elected to send their Under-20 squad to Sumatra in preparation for the AFC Under-19 Championships in November, which double as qualifiers for the 2013 Fifa Under-20 World Cup in Turkey.

A-League players have dominated the squad, with 17 drawn from the domestic competition.  Two players - Tottenham midfielder Giancarlo Gallifuoco and goalkeeper Aaron Lennox of Queens Park Rangers - have been summoned from overseas, while former Aston Villa trainee Reece Caira has also been selected.

The tournament was initially scheduled for a June 23 start, with its delay until July ruling out several overseas-based players for Okon.

But the former Australia captain remains optimistic of his side's chances in Indonesia: "Our recent training camp in Brisbane [earlier in June] was very positive and gave us a good indication on the level of the players," he said.

"We were planning on having more overseas-based players in the squad, but with the tournament start postponed by two weeks most of the players that we were considering already had to return to their respective clubs to commence pre-season training.

"This tournament will be a tough challenge for the boys with five matches to be played in ten days.

"Fitness will be a key factor in dealing with the frequency of matches and the hot and humid conditions we will encounter in Indonesia.

"We will also be playing against players who are possibly two years older than most of our players so the experience and benefits that we will gain from this tournament will be doubled."

The Young Socceroos will play five matches in ten days in Group E, against Indonesia [July 5], Macau [July 7], Singapore [July 10], Timor Leste [July 12] and Japan [July 15].

Full squad: Terry Antonis [Sydney FC], Jake Barker-Daish [Adelaide United], Josh Brillante [Newcastle Jets], Corey Brown [Brisbane Roar], Reece Caira [Uncontracted], Connor Chapman [Newcastle Jets], Mitch Cooper [Newcastle Jets], James Donachie [Brisbane Roar], Jack Duncan [GK, Newcastle Jets], Giancarlo Gallifuoco [Tottenham Hotspur], Ben Garuccio [AIS], Nicholas Fitzgerald [Brisbane Roar], Jason Geria [Brisbane Roar], Curtis Good [Melbourne Heart], Aaron Lennox [GK, Queens Park Rangers], Jesse Makarounas [Perth Glory], Nick Munro [GK, Croydon Kings], Brandon O'Neill [Perth Glory], Yianni Perkatis [Blacktown City], Daniel Petkovski [Sydney FC], Anthony Proia [Brisbane Roar], Adam Taggart [Newcastle Jets], Riley Woodcock [Perth Glory].

Goal Australia has its own and account, so for all the latest news and features on Australian football follow us by clicking on the above links