Holger Osieck turns to home comforts of A-League in Australia squad for 2014 World Cup qualifier against Saudi Arabia

Osieck calls on nine A-League players in his squad to face Saudi Arabia on February 29, also summoning some wise heads from Asia - including Mark Bresciano - and Europe.

Holger Osieck has turned to the A-League and a handful of forgotten men in Australia's 19-man squad to face Saudi Arabia in February 29's 2014 World Cup qualifier.

Mark Bresciano and Michael Thwaite have been called in from cold for the match at Melbourne's AAMI Park, while nine A-League players have been summoned.

Bresciano has not played for Australia since the 2010 World Cup but is back in the fold in his home town after impressing with his UAE club side Al Nasr, while Gold Coast United's Thwaite gets a chance to add to the six international caps he collected between 2005 and 2007. He has not played since before the 2007 Asian Cup.

The other shock selections see Melbourne Heart full-back Michael Marrone given his first chance, while David Carney's recent move to Bunyodkor in Uzbekistan has paid dividends with the left-back also included.  Carney has not played since March 2011, making just a handful of appearances at club level since.

There are nine A-League players summoned, including Melbourne Victory trio Archie Thompson, Mark Milligan and Harry Kewell and Sydney FC duo Brett Emerton and Nick Carle. Two A-League players, Brisbane Roar's Erik Paartalu and Central Coast Mariners goalkeeper Mat Ryan, appear in their first squads. 

Lucas Neill will captain the side, while established No.1 Mark Schwarzer returns from England to take his place in what would be his 95th match.  Experienced attacker Tim Cahill, of Everton, has unsurprisingly been left at his club after an injury hit season.

Asian-based defenders Sasa Ognenovski, Matthew Spiranovic and Jade North are included as is J-League striker Alex Brosque, Dutch-based Adam Sarota and Turkish-based James Troisi.

Socceroos squad to face Saudi Arabia: M. Bresciano A. Brosque, N. Carle, D. Carney, B. Emerton, H. Kewell, M. Marrone, M. Milligan, L. Neill, J. North, S. Ognenovski, E. Paartalu, M. Ryan, A. Sarota,  M. Schwarzer, M. Spiranovic, A. Thompson, M. Thwaite, J. TroisiMore to follow