Ben Arfa excluded from France squad but Clichy, Evra, Cabaye and Arsenal stars included

The former Marseille coach has left the Magpies midfielder out of the upcoming 2014 World Cup qualifiers, but named a number of other English based Frenchmen
France coach Didier Deschamps has announced his 23-man squad for the upcoming 2014 World Cup qualifiers against Finland and Belarus on September 7 and 11, respectively.

The 1998 France World Cup-winning captain has recalled Abou Diaby and Jeremy Menez, who returns following the one-match suspension he was handed out by the French Football Association for his disrespectful behaviour towards France goalkeeper Hugo Lloris during Euro 2012.

"It's in the past. The future interests me now. It's up to him (Menez) to take stock of what he should and should not do," Deschamps said to a press conference. "He has a lot of qualities as a football player."

The former Juventus player also spoke of his choice to include 26-year-old Diaby who has been in and out of the national side since making his debut in 2007.

"He has a very interesting profile and is cut out to play at the highest level. At his age, he is now coming into full maturity," Deschamps continued.

Perhaps the most surprising inclusion in the squad was that of Mickael Landreau whose last appearance for Les Bleus was five years ago in a friendly against Morocco.

"I know Mika [Landreau] very well, the role of the third goalie is very important," Deschamps said.

"Although he won't get to play much, his role is important in the dressing room and around the squad because of his qualities as a person."

Among the notable exclusions were Newcastle United's Hatem Ben Arfa and Rennes' Yann M'Vila while he has stuck with Hugo Lloris in goal despite criticism of the Lyon player.

Name Club
Mickael Landreau Lille
Hugo Lloris Lyon
Steve Mandanda Marseille
Gael Clichy Manchester City
Patrice Evra Manchester United
Christophe Jallet Paris Saint-Germain
Laurent Koscielny Arsenal
Adil Rami Valencia
Anthony Reveillere Lyon
Mamadou Sakho Paris Saint-Germain
Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa Montpellier
Yohan Cabaye Newcastle
Etienne Capoue Toulouse
Abou Diaby Arsenal
Maxime Gonalons Lyon
Blaise Matuidi Paris Saint-Germain
Rio Mavuba Lille
Mathieu Valbuena Marseille
Karim Benzema Real Madrid
Olivier Giroud Arsenal
Bafetimbi Gomis Lyon
Jeremy Menez Paris Saint-Germain
Franck Ribery Bayern Munich