Gilette Brasil Global Tour

In his first test since returning to the Tricolor, coach Sixto Vizuete is without Antonio Valencia and Jefferson Montero but has named 15 of the 23 that contested World Cup 2014

Ecuador interim coach Sixto Vizuete has announced his squad that will meet Brazil in New Jersey on September 9 as part of a Gillette Brasil Global Tour double-header.

La Tricolor are in a period of transition following the disappointment of a group stage exit at this year’s World Cup, with Under-20 coach Vizuete temporarily stepping in following the departure of Reinaldo Rueda.

Jefferson Montero, who has recently joined Swansea City in the Premier League, and captain Antonio Valencia were surprise omissions from the squad that will meet Bolivia four days before their clash with the Selecao, but their new international boss was quick to confirm that their absences are only temporary.

“They asked me not to select them this time because they are in the process of physical and tactical adaptation at their clubs,” said the coach. “When they are ready, they will return and give their all for the national team.”

While Ecuador will be without two of their stars, 15 of the 23 that contested the World Cup were included in Vizuete’s first squad since his return, including West Ham striker Enner Valencia and Dynamo Moscow midfielder Cristhian Noboa, who were two of the team’s standout performers in Brazil.

Like Brazil boss Dunga, Vizuete is back for his second stint in charge of his country after overseeing their ultimately unsuccessful World Cup qualifying campaign for South Africa 2010.

Squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Alexander Dominguez (Liga de Quito - Ecuador), Maximo Banguera (Barcelona - Ecuador), Adrian Bone (El Nacional - Ecuador)

Defenders: Juan Carlos Paredes (Watford - England), Frickson Erazo (Flamengo - Brazil), Jorge Guagua (Emelec - Ecuador), Arturo Mina (Independiente del Valle - Ecuador), Walter Ayovi (Pachuca - Mexico), Cristian Ramirez (Nurnberg - Germany), Mario Pineida (Independiente - Ecuador)

Midfielders: Carlos Gruezo (Stuttgart - Germany), Juan Cazares (Banfield - Argentina), Segundo Castillo (Al-Hilal - Saudi Arabia), Renato Ibarra (Vitesse - Netherlands), Junior Sornoza (Independiente - Ecuador), Cristhian Noboa (Dynamo Moscow - Russia), Angel Mena (Emelec - Ecuador)

Forwards: Fidel Martinez (Leones Negros - Mexico), Enner Valencia (West Ham - England), Daniel Angulo (Independiente - Ecuador), Joao Rojas (Cruz Azul - Mexico), Joao Plata (Real Salt Lake - USA)